Undelete Files after Emptied Trash

Requirements: Mac OS X 10.5.x and above (including Leopard, Snow Leopard, Lion, Mountain Lion & Mavericks)

Trash is the storage location where files will get stored after deletion from Macintosh computer. In almost all computers, Trash is located on the desktop and the user can view Trash icon. In Windows Operating System, the location where deleted files are stored is called as Recycle Bin and Recycle Bin is also located on the desktop. There are two options available in Trash to empty the files present in Trash. They are “Empty Trash” which you can find after right clicking on the Trash icon and “Secure Empty Trash” which you can find in Finder menu. Whenever Trash is emptied by using Empty Trash option then those files can be retrieved by using third party recovery tools. When Trash is emptied using Secure Empty Trash option that is available in the Finder menu, then you cannot retrieve those files using any third party tools. When Secure Empty Trash option is used, then it will delete the files present in the Trash and it will overwrite some garbage data on that particular location from where files are deleted. Therefore, files will get deleted permanently and file recovery will not be possible. When files are deleted from the computer then sometimes files may get deleted due to larger size of the file. This happens when size of the deleted file exceeds size of the Trash or when deleted files bypass Trash because Trash has reached its maximum size limit.

In Mac computers when files or folders are deleted they automatically get stored into Trash. If those deleted files are needed in future then those files can be restored from the Trash. If deleted files bypass the Trash due to large size then such files cannot be restored in future if needed. If files are deleted from Trash then those files cannot be restored. If Trash is emptied then all the files present in Trash will get deleted and such files cannot be restored. In such a scenario you need to use a good recovery tool to restore deleted Mac files

Before deleting the files from Trash or before emptying Trash make sure that you have backup of those files because if you require same files in future then you cannot retrieve those files by manual methods. While deleting the files from the computer make sure that you have enough space in Trash so that deleted files will not bypass Trash. While deleting any files from Trash be careful because once you delete the file then that file will get deleted permanently and that file cannot be restored unless you use a file recovery software. Whenever files are deleted then only the link to those files will get deleted and data will remain as it is in the same location. Therefore, files can be restored using Mac file restore tool that can recover files on Mac volume easily. It is easy and simple process to restore deleted documents on Mac Operating System.This software provides a Preview option to preview restored files. The software not only supports recovery of files from Mac volumes but can also perform SD card file recovery on Mac.Other than files deleted from SD cards and hard drives, the software can also undelete Mac files from FireWire drives

Few steps that you must follow to retrieve deleted files from the Trash are:

Step 1: Download and install demo version of Mac Undelete Software.

Mac undelete main page

Figure a : Main window

Step 2: Launch the software by double clicking the shortcut icon on the desktop and select "Recover Files" option from the main screen. To retrieve deleted files select "Recover Deleted Files" option from the screen that is appeared as shown in figure a.

Select recovery option screen

Figure b: Select retrieve options

Step 3: Select the drive from which you want to retrieve deleted files and then click on "Next". Then select appropriate file types and click on "Next" button as shown in figure c.

Select file types window

Figure c: Select appropriate file type

Step 4: The software will start scanning the selected drive and then it will retrieve deleted files. After recovery process is complete, the software will display recovered files as shown in figure d.

View recovered data window

Figure d: View recovered files

Step 5: If you are satisfied with the recovery result, then purchase full version of this software and restore deleted files to the desired location.

 

For Leopard (10.5) and
Snow Leopard (10.6) Users

For Lion (10.7), Mountain Lion (10.8),
Mavericks and Yosemite (10.10) Users